Posted by: marilynmendoza | January 12, 2012

Pick a title; any title


Well, Happy New Year to those who are happy.  I want to do a survey. My new memoir has 4 possible titles

If you’re happy and you know it, you’re not me

Zen and then some,  further misadventures of an agoraphobiac

The poetry of Zen or the Zen of poetry

Blind in one eye, can’t see out of the other, How I lost my vision and gained insight

You might think I’m bummed out by the ambience of this post but I’m not,  REALLY!

The new year has brought me wonderful challenges. what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger they say. Or you just pray for death, which is good, prayer is always good they say. Who is “They anyway? or who are they anyway?,

 I think I will add that to my title Who are/is they anyway?

ok, good stuff, I will read poems at a slam that will be shown on local TV

not such  good stuff. ah, I have to show my mug on TV?

good stuff. I have some good poetry I’m dying to read

bad stuff. I might not be able to read due to losing vision in one eye.

good stuff, I can memorize my poems,

not such  good stuff, My memory is shot due to age

good stuff, I am alive

bad stuff. will I still  be alive by the time I have to read at the slam where I’m dying to read my poetry

good stuff, I have 2 dogs

ok,, that is good stuff,

My parental unit, (new therapists term for late mother)  was a master complainer, so I have to kvetch (Yiddish) a little

I haven’t written my book yet on paper but it is in my head, at least it will be after a full brain tune up with a CD of  brain waves and things I am too confused to comprehend

so pick a name, any name,  for my book

and I promise to give you an acknowledgement and a plate of rice and beans whichever is cheaper as I am kind of broke lately

Just don’t choose, ” friends we are gathered here today to complain about the late author” Marilyn Maya Mendoza

Responses

  1. Why name a baby before its born? You can only name it once you see what kind of personality it has… i keep thinking your last one is about xenophobia anyway :O

    • HI Saphrina,
      That gave Me a chuckle. I already have two books, one in my head, and one I wrote about being in the Philippines during desert storm. “A storm in the Phillippines”? I have to rewrite that but it might be dated. Thanks for the advice.

  2. Definitely Zen and Then Some! I think that’s a great title, and it will connect the second book to the first.

    You gave me a chuckle today. Good luck with the poetry readings! As someone with GAD, I can relate! Hugs.

    • Thank you Nadine, I should say anxiety and then some aloha

  3. Sorry to hear about your vision. I thought I’d let you know in case you don’t see it elsewhere that if you have an e-reader, my book of short stories, “Unexpected Love and Other Stories is part of Kindle free program from January 13-18. You can download it on your Kindle or any Kindle app (including the one for free on your computer) for free. Just go to Kindle.com and type in my name. You’ll see it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

