Posted by: marilynmendoza | April 15, 2012

“Moon people” said to be ” worst book ever”, is doing well and I’m not mad


I was reading  about Dale M Courtney’s  book “Moon People,” and I had to laugh. It had 107 positive ratings on Amazon,and according to many reviewers,  it’s the worst book ever written. I didn’t think that could be true until I read the reviews.   Moon people is being read for reasons other than the author intended. Instead of creating a  Sci Fi, masterpiece, we are lead on an odyssey of  bad grammar and worse prose .  The book is not a self-help book on how to literally moon people; but I am happy for the author. Let me explain, she blithely spouts.

“Blithely spouts” was “actually ” in the first draft of my memoir,  “From Agoraphobia To Zen’, as was “actually”but after a few edits and reading a few books about how not to write the worst book ever, I took those offending words out. My book also  has a few good reviews, though not all as hilarious as those in “Moon People” When I was an English teacher I read many funny essays but my students didn’t have the passion needed to go to “xlibris” to get published(not that there’s anything wrong with that) I think self publishing is a valid option in todays publishing  turmoil albeit not as “Indie” as some claim.  I say “Show me the Indie money”!  It’s at least a democratic process, sort of like voting for ______ , fill in the name of the  candidate of your choice . I will give you a taste of Moon people ,thanks to Gabe Habash of  PWXYZ the news blog of Publisher’s Weekly,

This story begins on a Beautiful sunny day in Daytona Beach Florida With a man by the name of David Braymer. A 45-year-old Single man that works at the local High school as a science teacher and astrology in the 12-grade level. Now he’s been here about 5 years and has become kind of partial to a young lady by the name of Cheral Baskel a local restaurant owner in Daytona Beach. At the moment Cheral’s preparing her restaurant for another Shuttle launch at the cape and everyone always gathers at her place because you can see the launch real good at her place. It’s also on the water and its real close to the cape and she really decks the place out.

This book published in 2008 has not one but two sequels, going beyond ” Gone with the Wind” and “A Tale of 2 Cities”with a relish not often seen in self- publishing or heck any publishing. I relish in the fact that anyone can write a book and publish it. It gives me joy to know people are getting such a kick out of three books that before social media interfered wouldn’t have gotten such enthusiastic publicity or heck, publicity of any kind. Mr. Courtney is obviously pleased. He writes to his legions of readers and gives them pause for thought (a lot of pause)

Introduction Moon People 3 Thank you for reading my book Moon People 3. My goal in Moon People 3 was to make it as action pact from start to finish just like my first two Moon People books. I had to make a “Grand Finale” so I put everything into Moon People 3. I would also like to talk to you about the Venus genesis in this book for a moment. All of the Venus technical data is accurate and the Venus genesis formula is based on an actual analytical possible “Venus Genesis”. It took me a while to figure out a true Venus genesis possibility. Because of the real high pressure in the atmosphere and on the surface. Also the very high temperatures on the surface. If It wasn’t for me trying to figure out how to do a genesis on Mars and Venus. I would not have believed it possible. But now I believe it really can be done on both planets, Mars and Venus and maybe easier than we all thought. You know it is true that we can not go beyond our solar system because of distance and time in our life cycle. But I submit that we should be concentrating on the planets in our solar system. Could you imagine if we could pull off a Venus genesis or even a Mars genesis. We could colonize another planet in our solar system. Wouldn’t that be the ultimate! Besides all of the above. I hope you don’t mind but I just had to add some “Action Pack Sci-Fi Space Adventure” to the mix also. I hope you enjoy my book Moon People 3. I really enjoyed writing it for you. If you like Moon People 3, I hope you will read 1 And 2 also. I know you will enjoy them. If you have any questions or comments please e-mail me at: :Fishinghole1112000@yahoo.com Thank you for your time and God Bless. Author Dale M. Courtney Sci-Fi Books “Moon People Trilogy”

I know what you might be thinking; why should I be writing about this book and giving it publicity while my own book is languishing at  ___________  fill in the book seller of your choice, and not selling half as well as Mr. Courtney’s trilogy?  I’m told I should be mad. I’m not mad. Well, I’m mad, but not in the way I’m told I should be. My book is also funny I’m told, just not the kind of funny that cracks you up for odd reasons and makes you write funny reviews. I’m happy that any book is giving anyone pleasure in these days of excess technology and high gas prices.  Mr. Dale M. Courtney  seems to respect his readers in that he writes them such sincere heartfelt letters.  He just can’t write. But then he sells so who am I am to judge.  

Responses

  1. I’m a “Grammar Nazi”, so this post drove me crazy & made me laugh.

    • Thank you. It gives me joy to make people laugh aloha

  2. Remember those who have patience and perserver will win out in the end. I have been amazed that my first book that didn’t move is now moving at book signings when I am showing the new books out. Sometimes we just have to move forward and let nature take its course.

    • Thank you for your support. I am doing a signing on the 28 in my local library. I wrote my memoir to heal and it worked, so eveything is gravy. aloha

      • No your using my saying LOL “Everything is Gravy.”
        Good luck with your book signing. I hope that you will continue to write.

      • aloha thank you

      • You are always welcome my dear friend best wishes to you

  3. You know what they say about those women who play “dumb blondes” on TV? That you have to be REALLY smart to play a dumb person. I’m wondering if the same can be true for writing. You have to be damn good to write such drivel. Life is full of paradoxes. 🙂

    • I was wondering about that but I think this time for us it’s just dumb luck aloha


Leave a Reply

Categories

